Welcome to The Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads

Modifying Maps To Be Playable

Matt Marche

As most of you know, there are many maps that have gaping and apparent flaws to them.

I have basic hammer experience and this is all that is required to fix a lot of maps.

I was wondering if HG would be willing to use them if I fixed them and gave them ready-to-go versions of maps, with the author's permission of course.

For example, zs_bungalows would be MUCH better with a very simple change: a human only trigger hurt throughout the water that does 1 damage per second. This would allow people to still travel through water, but would eliminate the previous issue of humans being nigh invulnerable in the corner of the water.

If I knew my changes would be used, I would gladly make them ASAP. There's at least 10 maps off the top of my head I could make small changes to to make them more enjoyable for both sides.

• Like 7

If you want someone to do the fixing, I'll do them.

I did lots of fixing of ZS maps in the past and I can help you out on everything and anything (being the mappers leader or whatever ye call it)

However any work that you do I'll need to run through before it goes live; QA is important especially in ZS.

Give me a PM or something so we can work stuff out.

• Like 1

Yes, because having to update it four or five separate times and each time creating a new issue that needs another fix is considered "well."

Let me see, the first time it was uploaded was when everyone was complaining about the lack of new maps and the only reason your map was added is because, I assume, you added it. In which case, you could've added new maps when half the community was begging for them.