Welcome to The Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads

The Benefits Of Private Shard

Xenolith

I have been playing quite a bit of Dayz with some friends recently, and have noticed the following:

Public servers are always riddled with random fully geared players, the ability to ghost like crazy and get fully geared is stupid. it takes away from the gameplay an absolute ton, and I am done with it. I have spent plenty of time doing the same thing, I would go around ghosting until I'm full gear in an hour, and then go get in fights. This is fun for a time but gets very boring.

I recently started playing a small whitelisted private shard server, they have a no KOS policy, which works surprisingly well. Although the community is fairly small compared to the public server's numbers, it offers an environment to play the game like it was supposed to be. Things like farming and tents can actually last a while on a whitelisted server, ghosting is not a problem, as loot will only reset on server restarts.

I noticed the thread to apply to make a "faction". This idea will be able to be taken to a far more interesting level, sparking the idea of faction vs faction wars, rivalrys, etc.

While this is obviously optional when setting up a private shard server, I think that a whitelist would greatly benefit the communities quality of players and HG in general. Having a white list would force players to come to the hellsgamers website to sign up, increasing traffic to the site and therefore increasing new hg recruits. The whitelist process would simply be making an account on the HG forums and posting your in game name and GUID in a whitelisting thread.

Dealing with cheaters, rule breakers, etc. can simply be handled by posting proof of the offense in a forum section or by an admin directly in game.